Factory Reset Protection (FRP) Feature
What is Device Safety, or Factory Reset Protection (FRP)?
Android?? The devices provide built-in security features that you can use to protect your device and information, including screen lock and data encryption. There is a security feature on Android devices with data protection, or Factory Reset Protection (FRP), Lollipop 5.1 and higher.
FRP automatically activates when you set up Google ?? Once FRP is activated on your device, this factory stops the use of any device after the reset, unless you are already logged in using the Google username and password set on the device.
How does FRP work?
When do factory data reset, all settings are returned to the factory default settings. entire data is erased, including files and downloaded apps.
If you have a Google account set up on the device, the FRP is active. This means that after resetting, you will need to log into a Google account using the username and password. If you have many Google accounts set up on the device, you can log in using any account.
If an unauthorized person tries to reset the device to some other method, then the device will still need to log in using a Google username and password. This means that if your device is lost or stolen, then no one else will be able to reset it and use it.
What do I need to know about FRP?
If you want to reset your device to factory defaults, make sure you know your Google Account and password because you will have to log in at the end of the reset.
If you want to reset your device to factory defaults, but do not miss your Google username and / or password, you can do one of the following:
Check your device’s account settings for your account name, and reset your password via device or on www.google.com.
Password reset can take up to 24 hours with all the devices registered in the account.
Remove the account before resetting the device.
If you have already reset your device, but can not remember your Google username and / or password, then the device can not be used. If, you can do one of these:
If you know your Google username but can not remember the password, you can reset your password on the device or on www.google.com. It can take up to 24 hours for new passwords to sync with all registered devices. After 24 hours, you can try logging in to your phone with a new password.
If you have multiple Google accounts, and do not remember which Google account you set up on your device, then visit https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager.
Log in with your Google username and password and check the list of devices registered in your account. If you do not see the device listed in the account, it means that the device is registered in another account. Use the same procedure to check the devices associated with your other Google accounts. When you find the registered account, then use it to log in to your device.
If you do not remember any of your Google Account information, you can send your device with proof of purchase in an authorized Samsung service center. Samsung has special tools to reset the phone to factory defaults, with no security enabled.